Close

wtf is a mary-sue?

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
66 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_shirafuji_*

Guest_shirafuji_*
  • Guests

Posted 02 March 2006 - 12:10 PM

I'm a total novice to the fanfiction, but I keep seeing these. Wtf is a mary-sue?

#2 Shadowspawn

Shadowspawn

Fresh Meat

• Fresh Meat
  • 8 posts

Posted 02 March 2006 - 12:58 PM

The Mary Sue is the perfect character. The smartest one, the one who is always right, who turns the dark into light, strongest of the strong, befriender of the lonely, the one who knows anything and everything.
In other words, the most annoying know-it-all ever to exist in fanfiction.

#3 Vespar

Vespar

Namikage

• Elite Teacher
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,161 posts
  • Interests:Everyone thinks it, but etiquette interferes; lest the writer is construed as misdirected.

Posted 02 March 2006 - 01:13 PM

^Yep. Shadowspawn outlined it perfectly. However, he/she still missed something...

Mary Sues are specifically under the labels as being Author Created Characters (ACC), Original Characters (AC) or most likely a Self-Insert (SI). Not just having the Shadowspawn's listed abilities, Mary-Sues also tend to get romantically involved with a main character(s) -usually Sasuke, Neji, Gaara or Kakashi and to a lesser extent; Naruto, Shikamaru or Iruka.

Oh and for the reverse, some people refer the male Mary-Sue equivalent as a Gary-something-or-rather. It slips my mind at the moment. ^^;

#4 Sakura Blossoms

Sakura Blossoms

Heaven and Earth Deity

• Kage
  • 8,418 posts
  • Location:Sunny (when there's no hurricane XD) South Florida!
  • Interests:Reading, writing fanfiction (check out my homepage) *shameless plug* XD, video games, and anime! ^_^

Posted 02 March 2006 - 01:37 PM

There is also the Ginny-Sue in Harry Potter.

In fact J. K Rowling (the supposed great writer herself) plays a huge part in that word being in existance now dry.gif