• This topic is locked This topic is locked
5 replies to this topic

#1 Kenhime

Kenhime

Genin

• Genin
  • PipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Interests:I'm a college student and I'm oooooooooooooooold.

Posted 06 April 2006 - 10:00 AM

I was thinking about shipping and fanfic pairings as of late, and I thought it would be nice to hear from fellow writers/readers about what they think about shipping.

Here are some questions I ask you, and you don't have to answer them all (though that will be nice if you do).

1) When you write the shipping your story centers on, why do you do it? Is it to attract like-minded people to your story? Is it to gain more attention with a specific pairing rather than to have your story be a gen fic?

2) If you do not state a pairing in your FFnet summary, and you receive reviews supporting pairings you did not specify nor emphasize, how do you feel about it?

3) What are your experiences with readers when you ship or nonship a fanfic?

4) Say you come across a fantastic story that has no stated/confirmed pairing in the beginning. As you read more and enjoy it more, you reach a turning point in the story where a pairing you do not prefer is confirmed. "Three Pieces of an Annoying Complex Puzzle" is one such example. Do you continue to read it?

Click For Spoiler
As I was editing a fanfic of mine, I thought about the people who read this story and why do they read it. I realized that my readers are predominantly NaruSaku and NaruHina fans--and I realized I failed in my attempt to write a story that would appeal to all readers.