• This topic is locked This topic is locked
6 replies to this topic

#1 Vyse

Vyse

Team F.U.T.A. Viking King

• Missing Nin
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2,017 posts
  • Interests:My interests? Well, I do enjoy most manga and anime, but I think that's a given. I also enjoy comic books and videogames, so I guess I'm kinda geeky there. But hey, I do other stuff. I like to go out and party, but I do not like drinks served in a femvase (damn fruity stuff... ew), so good ol' beer is my mate. So yeah, I'm also a psychology student, so your mind interests me.

Posted 21 February 2009 - 02:50 AM

Atlantis- Found on Google Earth?

Lately, it seems as if the Sun is printing alot of tabloid nonsense, but I can't deny the amusement I get from reading it, and the child in me really wants this to be true.

Aeronautical engineer Bernie Bamford claims to have discovered the lost city of Atlantis. How did he do this? Well, he claims to have found it while playing around on Google Earth.

Is this Atlantis? --Click here to view--

Apparently, Google has mapped the ocean floor using boats with sonars, and the grid Bernie Bamford found appears to be manmade. It is located in the area known as Madeira Abyssal Plane, which is just outside the Canary Islands and several hundred kilometers outside the west coast of Africa. Most experts on the area claims that this might be a lost island, but that this discovery is many times smaller than what Atlantis was supposed to be.

Google Earth has been in the media alot since it's birth. Among other things, it has taken a photo of a woman sunbathing in her own back yard in Germany, and discovered a huge drug farm. Is it really unthinkable that this free tool might lend a hand in one of the greatest archeological discoveries ever? This island is supposed to have drowned 12000 years ago, so it's about time we found it!