6 replies to this topic

#1 Dalton.T.R

Dalton.T.R

Jounin

• Jounin
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,727 posts

Posted 04 July 2015 - 03:26 PM

So last night I finished an LP I've been doing for a few months now. The game was Dragon Age: Origins. A long time ago, I had it on the Xbox 360, but I was never able to complete it due to the game constantly freezing and bugging out. However, I bought it on the PC a while back but never got around to playing it...until just a few months ago. And I have to say...I was a fool for not playing it sooner.

The game is starting to show its age a bit. Being released in 2009, it's not really hard to imagine why. However, the story, controls, and detail that went into this game make it well worth playing.

The overall story or plot is kind of similar to Lord of the Rings, but what fantasy game isn't? You start off creating a character. Be it Human, Elf, or Dwarf, and of course Male or Female. You then choose your skills and what type of fighting style you want your character to have. You choose between three combat classes: Warrior, Mage, and Rogue (my personal favorite)

After completing your character creation, you are recruited into an organization called "The Grey Wardens". Some of the best fighters in the world, and an old enemy of the evil army known as the "Darkspawn" an army of Undead to put it simply.

The detail and attention that went into this game is just amazing. During my play through, I was able to play as a character I could never play as in most games. I was role playing my lead female from my Chris Lynheart series. A woman named Jessica Holland. This is where it got real interesting to me. Jessica is the type of person who would never shed blood if she could avoid it. Jessica is very forgiving, very generous, very kind, and will never turn away from people who need her the most. Book wise, she's not really a fighter, but obviously I can't have a book character have the same attitude when she's in a video game.