• This topic is locked This topic is locked
86 replies to this topic

#1 MonkeysTotallyRock

MonkeysTotallyRock

Elite Teacher

• Elite Teacher
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,208 posts
  • Interests:Eating... Sleeping... Thinking about monkeys...

Posted 01 August 2006 - 12:33 AM

okay. so i've been writing a story that has come to a point where i need to know what the pairings should be. yes, i don't make an outline, and yes, i'm a bad author so like every irresponsible fool, i make up my stories as go. which is partly why i stink. that, and i'm too lazy.
which brings me to my next question. what do you guys think of yaoi. i personally don't mind it. you could even say i'm a fan of it. so why is it so bad? why do people make such a big deal of gay people. just need some info on the pros on cons and your opinion of yaoi/yuuri.

me, i see nothing wrong with it. so i'm going pro:
1) "love knows no gender." got that from someone's fanfic i think.
2) freedom -- you're free, you should be able to marry who you want, right? in the us, isn't that one of the rights? persuit of happiness?

#2 desaix

desaix

Summoning Master

• Summoning Master
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,354 posts

Posted 01 August 2006 - 01:08 AM

The problem isn't so much with just the existence of Yaoi\Yuri. If done well, it can be fine... not my taste, but fine. The problem is, it's so overdone, especially by bad fanfic writers who have no sense, and almost always SO far out of character for the characters who are part of yaoi\yuri pairings, that they smear good fanfic writers of the series for which the yaoi\yuri fics are written. Naruto has a HORRIBLE reputation in the fanfiction community because of the sheer number of bad, out of character yaoi\yuri fanfics.

You haven't experienced the full cofusion of modern gender relations until you've heard an angry group of women yelling, "We want tentacles!" at an all-night Hentai-fest.

-Tonbo