Namikaze Clan

Jounin

• Jounin
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,684 posts

Posted 22 August 2015 - 12:50 AM

Kishi did another interview.  This time with "Cinema Today"

http://honyakusha-er...om-cinema-today

Q: At the time that The Last –Naruto the Movie– opened last December, it seems that production had commenced for the screenplay of Boruto –Naruto the Movie–. In April, the side story (Naruto Gaiden ~The Seventh Hokage and the Scarlet Spring~) also started its short-term serialization, but what kind of schedule was it?

Kishimoto: I finished writing the movie’s script around the end of January. Corrections and such were added afterwards, so it might have been around the end of February that work on the script was completely finished. For me however, since the beginning of February was a pausing point for work on the movie, I think I started drawing pictures for the short-term serialization on the side in February. The short-term serialization started at the point of deciding the characters. That’s because you can’t refine a story without making characters. After I decided the entire plot, I thought about how each week would go.

Q: Before now, you have had experience with supervision and story in movie production.

Kishimoto: With Road To Ninja –Naruto the Movie– I dealt with the composition, and in The Last –Naruto the Movie– I did the character designs and was chief story supervisor. However, this is the first time that I’ve completely written everything from the start, including the lines.

Q: Were there differences between [writing] manga and a movie?

Kishimoto: To me, it hadn’t changed fundamentally, because when I was a newcomer, I had studied books on writing movie scripts.

Q: Movies were made into reference material for manga.